Bolivia Eats! : Anticucho

In this section of my blog called “Bolivia Eats!” I will highlight Bolivia culinary delights (totally biased because it’s all the Bolivian food I love to eat).  My second time visiting La Paz has verified my love for Bolivian food. Bolivia is definitely not known for gastronomy but the food here will entice the taste buds of those with a unique palate (do I sound like Anthony Bourdain yet?). In this post I want to focus on one of my favorite dishes**: Anticucho.

Anticucho is a popular street snack (and one of my faves!..in case you forgot) found in Bolivia and Peru. Comprised of grilled cow heart, potatoes, and a spicy peanut sauce drizzled over both, it can only be found after dusk (7pm and later). I was able to snag a rare day-preparation at a festival on 4/29/17.

Do not be put-off by the cow-heart bit…this snack is in fact delicious. I will not fool you and say it “tastes like chicken,” the term used to express that something tastes “normal.” It just tastes like yummy beef…closer to a steak, as my friend (who was hesitant to try it but when she did, she loved it) explained. The peanut sauce is my favorite because it gives the beef and potato such much flavor and that extra kick for my spicy food lovers over there.

When next you find yourself roaming the streets of La Paz or Lima (I heard it is super yummy in Lima as well) at nighttime, stop by your friend’s favorite anticucho lady and give it a go! My favorite lady is located at Calle 15 in Calacoto.

**Top Three: 1. Salteñas 2. Don Pollo 3. Anticucho

Video Details: Taken on April 29, 2017 in Mallasilla, La Paz.

Leave a Reply

